The friendly sunflower competition!

Butterflies_UFmuseum

Img from: WikiMedia

Good afternoon, I thought since spring is upon us that now would be a good time to have a friendly sunflower competition!

The chosen sunflower is the ‘Mexican Red Torch Sunflower’ a beautiful red-orange heirloom sunflower originating from Central Mexico. Not only is this a fabulous plant to attract butterflies into your garden but they are also loaded with continuous blossoms.

I purchased the seeds from one of my favourite seed companies ‘Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds‘ and as a bonus I got a packet of free Cilantro to add to my growing collection (I can’t wait to plant and use this herb in some delicious recipes) .

2015seedpurchase

So the rules of the competition are as follows:

– Seeds are planted on the same day (today around 9.30am)
– Only one plant can be chosen to be judged, you can’t pick the best….(Daniel!)
– At the end of 100 days the sunflowers will be measured and judged

Since I only have a balcony to grow on I have a slight disadvantage as the other contestants will be growing their seedlings in the ground, but since its all fun and games why not see what happens!

Trust me I have a few tricks up my sleeve.

The participants are:

– Me (The other Sarah Raven)
– MrCrayon(Daniel C) and his class: A kindergarten teacher and sunflower lover
– Nicole E and her class: Another kindergarten teacher : )

Let the competition begin and stay tuned for more updates.

Cheers,
Sarah Raven

3 comments

  1. I hope we both grow the best sunflower.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Just thought I would post a quick update on the Friendly Sunflower Competition. […]

    Like

  3. […] Reference: The friendly sunflower competition […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

