Seedling sneak peak

tomatoseedling Its been just over two weeks since I started my first few seedlings and they are coming along nicely. Everytime I get a glimpse of a new seed sprouting a child like grin forms from ear to ear on my face, and I can’t wait to plant them outdoors to flourish.

I started them off indoors again to get a nice head start:as in Canada its still a bit too chilly to plant outdoors. The weather tends to be quite finicky around this time of year and you never know when a surprise late frost will occur.

(I got stuck in that trap last year as I jumped the gun)

seedlinglove The first seeds germinated in just under a week in my lovely heated germination station. Unfortunately not all did;a few seeds have reached the end of their shelf life.

As an alternative germination experiment I took several seeds from the batch that was expiring and tried to sprout them inside my DIY mini moisture tubes. Well they are more like a kind of mini greenhouse.  Aren’t they just perfect for this purpose!

CoinrollerGreenhouse And to boot you can easily find the materials required in any dollar store or stationary store.

The Results:

Some of the expired seeds sprouted! Fancy that.

I will be posting a tutorial for this soon, and I hope when you see your seeds sprout that it will bring a smile to your face like it did mine.

Cheers,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

