Importance of promoting biodiveristy as a gardener

As I sit here on my balcony with a cup of hot tea in hand I am reminded of how important it is to close my eyes and just listen to all the sounds around me. One of my favourite things of all to hear is the sound of nature.

One of my goals as a balcony gardener is to try and encourage this natural wildlife to my balcony, in particular pollinators and helpful predators. I try to draw them in by planting my fruits and veg in companions and dotting additional floral plants in-between the gaps. One such partnership is Borage and Strawberries! With their special relationship they help to improve the yield and taste of one and other and they also help to attract the pollinators like bees and predatory wasp for organic pest control.

Embracing backyard or shall I say balcony biodiversity is one of the important things a gardener can do, especially with the alarming decline in species such as the monarch butterflies and the decline of honeybees, bumblebees and other pollinators.

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) warns nearly one third of known species are threatened with extinction, including 41 percent of amphibians, 26 percent of mammals, and 13 percent of birds.

–  Abby Quillen, “Gardeners Gone Wild.” Made by Custom Made (blog), May 7, 2015 (3:34pm)http://www.custommade.com/blog/gardens-gone-wild/

I am trying to create a habitat on my balcony that not only feeds me but also feeds these wonderful creatures to keep them from becoming extinct. What would happen if we have no more pollinators? Many of our plants depend on these insects to be fertilized and produce fruits, if they were gone how would certain fruits and vegetables flourish?

Check out the above link for more information on creating a wildlife friendly backyard and the importance on biodiversity.

I am trying to do my bit with the small space that I have, why not give it a shot with the space that you have?

garden-gone-wild-001

Leave a Reply

